top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Ware

Kyoto, Japan


The best is when you're not expecting anything of a city and it completely surprises you in a good way! That's what happened with Kyoto for me, I'm huge on nature and Kyoto supplied! I feel like Kyoto is Tokyo's hipster, boho sister.

What to do:

1. Thrift Shopping

Unusual, yes but Kyoto and Japan in general are big thrifters. You can find a thrift store on almost every street. I got this cute shirt for only 100 yen ($1) at this place called Lucha Libre. Also check out the bakery next door, amazing baked goods for only 112 yen! Makes for a great breakfast and snack later on.

Here's where the hipster part kicks in. Walking along Oike-dori Street, I found this corner with a coffee shop, an adorable plant nursery, an industrial art shop, and a kitchen shop. All are owned by the same business and are hipster to the max. I wanted to buy all the cute succulents - too bad I can't bring them back on the plane!

Bonus: walk about 20 steps farther down the same road and you'll find a beautiful Japanese garden!

I originally just went to this temple for it's beautiful Japanese garden (500 yen), which was smaller than expected but still breathtaking. The rest of the property is worth exploring around too though! And it's free, besides all the little side exhibits you can see, the Tenjuan Gardens being one of them. The property is huge and in the mountains so you get that nature-y vibe.

I suggest walking all the way up the mountain as far as you can go and following the river's edge around. You'll run into at least 4 more temples (Kiunin Temple, Zinrinji Temple, Eikando Temple, Shogaku-in Temple) that are smaller but equally as beautiful and surrounded by nature.

I was lucky and ran into a Japanese woman hand painting beautiful pictures for 150 yen along the river. Made a great light, cheap souvenir!

The area surrounding the bamboo forest alone is gorgeous and worth the trip! There are row boats you can rent for 1500 yen for an hour, would make a cute date.

Avoid the bamboo forest during the hours of 12:00-5:00 pm though, it will drive you crazy with all the tourists! I walked through at 2:00 pm and decided to come back later for that perfect picture. I returned at 6:00 pm and it was much less crowded and I got my post worthy picture with no one in the background. :)

I only came here for the pathway to the top of the mountain with a thousand Tori gates along the way - makes for a great photo! The main shrine/temple area at the bottom of the mountain was just like any other and overrated. Unfortunately I did not make it to the top (takes about 2-3 hours), it was incredibly hot that day and I just wasn't feeling it after walking 12 miles the previous day. (oh the price I pay to be a budget traveler)

Getting There

I took an 8 hour overnight bus to Kyoto from Tokyo for about $35 with Willer Express. This way you don't have to pay for accommodation for a night and the buses are actually pretty comfy. You can even book a "girls only" row in the bus to feel more comfortable. The seats reclined, there are head coverings, outlets, and bathroom.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page