top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Ware

Missed flights and 16 hour layovers on the way to Sydney, Australia


Australia was on my bucket list for awhile and I got to cross it off in December of 2016. Their seasons are opposite from the states, so I got to escape the winter. If you are not fortunate enough to live near a major international airport (JFK, LAX), such as myself (Phoenix, AZ), its cheapest to buy a separate flight to one of these and fly out from there. Naturally, I always fly internationally from LAX.

TIP: Give yourself at least 3 hours in-between connecting flights at LAX. It's a HUGE airport with long lines.

PRO TIP: American Airline flights later in the day will almost ALWAYS be delayed! Plan accordingly, keep in mind time changes. However, if it is delayed and it causes you to miss another flight, you WILL get the next flight out for NO extra charge.

This was my first international trip and I didn't know either of these tips. Soooooo my American Airlines flight was delayed and I missed my connecting flight to Sydney on WOW airlines. And the next flight out? 24 hours later!! And WOW airlines does not provide any hotel accommodations! (I will write a separate blog about WOW airlines, the cheapest international airline) I was bawling like a baby at the airport, don't expect ANY sympathy from airport people. Thankfully there was a Marriott half a mile away and I used my hotel discount to stay there.

24 hours later I was finally on my way to Iceland for my 16 hour layover. There was NO WAY I was going to stay in an airport for 16 hours so I booked a day visit to the Blue Lagoons. (Natural hot springs) I highly recommend it! I was also lucky enough to meet another solo student traveler from ASU that also had a 16 hour layover. We stuck together and stayed at the Blue Lagoon for 10 hours and then (tried) to sleep the rest of the time at the airport.

https://www.bluelagoon.com/day-visit/the-blue-lagoon

The Blue Lagoon is very pricey, especially in summer. The entrance price will be anywhere from $50-$70 depending on the season and time of day. I went in December so it was $50 but you also need to buy a bus ticket there. You can book that directly on the Blue Lagoon website as well. The bus ticket will be around just as much as your entrance fee. It sucks but, believe it or not, it is the cheapest option to get there. A taxi is outrageous ($100+), there is no Uber, and no public transportation from the airport.

TIP: Make sure you buy a European adapter ahead of time. An obvious tip, you would think, but I always forget and I'm not the only one! I had to buy one at the airport for $20. :/

The basic entry fee comes with free use of silica mud masks (above), use of a towel, and a drink of choice.

There is a bar you can swim up to, you pay with your wristband that you receive at entry. There is also an expensive restaurant/hotel inside.

In summer, Iceland has 21 hours of DAYLIGHT in a day!! In winter, they only have 5 hours of daylight! Crazy dynamics!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page