top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Ware

Hamburg, Germany


Hamburg is a classy and wealthy city with iconic architecture and more bridges than Amsterdam and Venice combined. Hamburg was also voted one of the best places to live in Europe.

Hamburg seems like a lovely place to live, but it didn't impress me much. To me, there was no certain pizazz about the city.

We walked around the Rathaus, Hamburg's city hall, with over 640 rooms! It's very nice from the outside but we did not go inside.

St. Michael's church (2 euro) is another popular sight here. Built between 1750-1762, the church has a stunning Baroque style. There are 2,425 people buried in the church's crypt, creepy.

You can also climb the church tower (5 euro) for a nice 360 view of Hamburg.

We tried to find the best burger place in Hamburg and ended up at Dulf's Burger. The wait is long, the service isn't that great, and the tables are super close together. Europeans don't seem to mind, but I found it very uncomfortable.

I felt like I have to monitor everything I said to my boyfriend across the table because our neighbors could hear every word and whisper. The burgers were good though, I'll give them that. The mac n cheese was more soupy cheese, I didn't care for it much.

TIP: I wish we had gone to the fish market (Fischmarkt), Hamburg is known for it, but it was just so dang early! Don't miss it like I did, it's open every Sunday from 5am till 9:30 am.

Pretty much every ice cream shop in Germany, will have "spaghetti ice." Yes, it looks like spaghetti (they swish the ice cream into noodle shapes) and taste like strawberry shortcake. It's a MUST TRY! <3

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page